• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Chocolate Crinkles

dsc_65961

These are one of my sister’s favorite cookies and now I think they are becoming one of mine.  I was craving these all week and finally made them the other day.  I only made one batch and saved the rest of the batter to make 2 1/2 more batches today.  One of the reasons I love these cookies is because they are so much like brownies, and brownies are hands-down my favorite chocolate treat!

Chocolate Crinkles 2

Originally, I was going to use this recipe at Good Thymes and Good Food, but I didn’t have the unsweetened chocolate on hand, so I found a different recipe at AllRecipes that used cocoa powder instead.  These are messy to eat, because of the powdered sugar…so make sure you grab a napkin or two!

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies (adapted from AllRecipes)

Makes 3 1/2 dozen

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 cups white sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

In a medium bowl, mix together cocoa, white sugar, and vegetable oil. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; stir into the cocoa mixture. Cover dough, and place in freezer for 30 minutes or chill in refrigerator for 4 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray cookie sheets with nonstick spray. Use small cookie or ice scream scoop to scoop dough into one inch balls. Coat each ball in confectioners’ sugar before placing onto prepared cookie sheets.

Bake in preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Let stand on the cookie sheet for a minute before transferring to wire racks to cool.

9 Responses

  1. Don’t know if I thanked you for the biscuits recipe, so, thank you!!

    Also – these cookies are so beautiful and I have been seeing them around the blogosphere a lot especially over the holidays…I need to make them!

  2. These are my all time favorite cookie. They bring back lots of childhood memories.

  3. I have always wanted to make crinkles, but never done it before. I really need to give them a try. They are so great! These look delicious.

  4. I’m glad that you ended up making these cookies! They are so great and such a yummy brownie/cookie combo! Perfect. 🙂

  5. Is this another of your mail order creations? Yum! I dipped leftover shortbread cookies into dark chocolate for after-Christmas dessert, and I’m thinking what incredible chocolate these would be dipped…

  6. “…these crinkles would be dipped…” Was my first comment confusing? I must work on being clearer…

  7. I love chocolate crinkles, but I’ve never made them! I think I’ll have to try. You’re right.. they do taste a lot like brownies. That might be why I love them so much. 🙂

  8. these are great cookies. I took them as part of a welcome platter and they were a big hit.

  9. These cookies are great–nice and chewy!

Leave a comment