• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creamy Chicken Pockets

Creamy Chicken Pockets2

I dug this one out of my recipe posts from 2008 because it is a meal we enjoy often and really needs to be brought back to your attention. With the blog aged over 4 years now, there are many recipes lost in the archives that I’d love to re-photograph (is that a word?) and rewrite. It would take forever to do so, but I’m placing the ones we absolutely love in the forefront. I’ll start with this Creamy Chicken Pockets recipe.

Chicken Pockets3

Once in a while I’ll have some boneless chicken breasts in the fridge that need to be used up quickly before going bad the next day.  This typically happens when I veer away from my meal plan and end up not using everything from my grocery list.  (Doesn’t happen often, no worries.)  If chicken is one of the items, then I will roast it in the oven and shred it or cube it for another use.  More than likely, I will save it either for my Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos or these Creamy Chicken Pockets, both of which are favorites in this house.

If you already have the chicken cooked and prepared, this is a great weeknight meal.  Just toss it in the skillet with the garlic and onions for a few minutes and you’re ready to quickly whip up the filling.  Even if you have to cook the chicken yet, it is still pretty fast to put together.  Trust me, this is the main reason we have it so often.  🙂

Creamy Chicken Pockets

Printable Recipe

Yield:  8 pockets, 3-4 servings

2 tbsp olive oil
2-3 small chicken breasts, diced
1/2 cup minced onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon butter, softened
3 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 teaspoon seasoned salt
2 tablespoons milk
1 (8 ounce) package refrigerated crescent rolls
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/4 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs, optional

Preheat oven to 375˚F.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Cook the chicken with the onions and garlic.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese and 1 tablespoon melted butter until smooth.  Stir in the cooked chicken, onions and garlic.  Add the salts, pepper and milk.  Mix well.

Separate the crescent roll dough into the eight triangles.  Dollop a tablespoon of filling into the center of each triangle and fold the corners up to seal.  Press and seal firmly.  Place on ungreased baking sheet or stone and repeat with the remaining dough and filling.  Brush the tops with the melted butter and sprinkle with the bread crumbs (optional).

Bake for 11 – 13 minutes, or until golden brown.

Recipe Note:  To heat up leftovers, bake in a preheated 350˚F oven for 10 minutes.

Source:  Adapted from AllRecipes

21 Responses

  1. Ooh, this looks like it would also make a killer appetizer! I think I’m going to try it out on my Bunco girls!

  2. What a great recipe! These look fun!

  3. These sound, and look, absolutely delicious! I’m going to make them tonight 🙂

  4. This looks delicious! My kids love crescent rolls. What a great way to use up leftovers.

  5. Wow these chicken pockets look so delicious! Love how easy the recipe is too!

  6. Can these be flash frozen then thawed and cooked? Thanks!

    • Katelyn- I haven’t tried that, but it seems like it could work. You could freeze them either unbaked or baked. Not sure you’d necessarily have to thaw it first, though, when you’re ready to serve them. Let me know if you try it!

      -Nikki

  7. Yeah! I love things in little pockets like that. Bundles of things are always fun. And creamy chicken? Can’t go wrong with that!

  8. These look really good! My kids love anything stuffed into a pocket, so I definitely want to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

    Jessica
    http://www.dinnerwiththeshivers.blogspot.com

  9. Nikki, you have such a beautiful blog and these chicken pockets are an adorable dinner idea. I bet they are so flavorful and fun for kids, too. Thanks for sharing this great recipe and stopping by my blog!

  10. Wow, these little pockets look so good…I am sure that they make a great appetizers…great pictures!

  11. Truly everyone in my house would love these creamy chicken pockets. Love this recipe 🙂

  12. These look great, and so comforting!

  13. These look really cute and tasty!

  14. These sound delicious! I love the idea of them!

  15. Nikki, these look yummy! I am glad you reposted them because I missed them the first time around. I am always looking for more recipes that use chopped or shredded chicken for the exact reasons you mentioned–preparing the chicken ahead of time before it goes bad. 🙂

  16. Made these last nite for my hubby……….he loved them…….and they were so easy! I will defiitely be making them again! Thanks so much for the recipe!!

  17. These were delicious! My husband and I ate four for dinner and I am going to try freezing the other four.

  18. Oh man…these look sooo delicious! I am bookmarking this one, i can’t wait to try it out! 🙂

  19. Hey Nikki, I made these tonight and they were delicious! They reminded me of little chicken pot pies and I am tempted to try to squeeze in some peas or carrots next time. Unfortunately, mine did not turn out quite as cute as your’s did. I think I overfilled them so they were a little difficult to seal on all sides. I think I was getting a little too greedy with the yummy chicken mixture! Great recipe again though! You never seem to disappoint 😉

    • Thanks, Amanda! I also have the problem of wanting to over-fill them. 🙂 In fact, I’ve made them with the chicken mixture filled between two rectangles instead (just seal the perforation between two of the triangles so they are rectangles) and this way you can create bigger portions, which means more filling in between! 🙂 So, rectangle crescent roll on bottom, layer in filling and top with another crescent roll rectangle. Seal the edges and bake!

Leave a Reply

