• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Scottish Shortbread

I wanted to include a variety of tastes in my Christmas boxes this year.  Since I decided to break tradition and not include Pizzelles, I thought these cookies could make up for that sugary cookie taste.  This is my first time making shortbread, or really even eating it (yeah sheltered, I know, right!)  So, I’m not even sure these had the classic shortbread taste.  But, I liked them and heard my gift recipients did, too!

Scottish Shortbread

Printable Recipe

2 cups butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325˚.

Cream butter and brown sugar. Add 3 to 3 3/4 cups flour. Mix well.

Sprinkle board with the remaining flour. Knead for 5 minutes, adding enough flour to make a soft dough. Roll to 1/2-inch thickness. Cut into 3×1-inch strips. Prick with fork and place on ungreased baking sheets.

Bake at 325 for 20 to 25 minutes.

Source: All Recipes

6 Responses

  1. Wow you they look so yummm.
    Till now i have only had them from shops.
    I would have thougut brown sugar would give it a dark colour

  2. Mmmm. These look so good. I love a good shortbread cookie with a hot cup of tea.

  3. These are just darling! I love a simple shortbread this time of year.

  4. Shortbreads are one of my favorites. And paired with a bit of raspberry jam…divine. Can’t wait to try these.

  5. I fell in love with shortbread at a fair where my friend was selling them — for the first time I was enraptured with these and yours look no different! NICE work!

  6. I made this recipe for Christmas gifts as part of a baked goods basket. RAVE reviews! I dipped one end in melted bittersweet chocolate. Yum! I have never had so many requests for one recipe in such a short time.

Leave a comment