• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Biscuit-Topped Italian Casserole

My sister and I bought new Le Creuset baking dishes on a great sale at Macy’s. They are the first Le Creuset’s I’ve owned, so naturally I was excited to use at least one of them right away. So, before I left work, I searched AllRecipes.com for a quick and easy casserole recipe where I wouldn’t be spending hours in the grocery store finding the ingredients.

This one was perfect and Ben and I loved it! You must try!

I made a few tweaks (using flavored tomato sauce and Italian veggies) that I think helped the recipe. The below reflects the changes I made.

Biscuit-Topped Italian Casserole

Ingredients

1 lb ground beef
1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce (Hunts brand that is flavored with basil, garlic, oregano)
3/4 cup water
1/4 tsp pepper
1 (10 oz) package frozen Italian style mixed vegetables
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, divided
1 (12 oz) package refrigerated buttermilk biscuits
1 tbsp butter, melted
1/2 tsp dried oregano

1. Preheat oven to 375. In a large skillet, cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Stir in the tomato sauce, water and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Remove from the heat. Stir in vegetables and 1-1/2 cups cheese. Transfer to a greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking dish.

2. Split each biscuit in half. Arrange biscuits around edge of dish, overlapping slightly; brush with butter and sprinkle with oregano. Sprinkle remaining cheese over the meat mixture. Bake, uncovered, at 375 degrees F for 25-30 minutes or until the biscuits are golden brown.

2 Responses

  1. I am very impressed with this site, by the way…

    you need to come to our place soon and hang out with us, Kara can cook and you can stay late into the evening since you don’t have kids!

  2. Hey! I’m trying this tonight . . . wish me luck. Seems pretty fool proof, though–the real question is always, “Will Jeff like this?”

    Keeping my fingers crossed! 🙂

    I like that you have labels–is that new or did I just now notice it?

Leave a comment