• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Cinnamon Chip Scones

Unfortunately I didn’t get a great pic. I love the cinnamon chip scones from Starbucks and really wanted to recreate it so I didn’t have to buy them any more. I searched the internet for a recipe but found nothing. So, I decided to take the plunge and do it myself. Using the recipe for the chocolate chip scones as a base, I made some modifications and they turned out perfectly! I found that baking them for the longer time of 25 minutes makes them more dry and airy like scones should be. Not too dry, though, that they’re tasteless. Just the right texture!

I made this batch to take with us to Branson this weekend. We met up with two other couples in Missouri and had a great time just seeing each other again. These scones were perfect with a cup of coffee each morning and saved us all from spending money on breakfast. They were a hit and I’ll make them again very soon!

(You can find Hershey’s brand cinnamon chips in the baking aisle next to the chocolate chips. It is packaged the same way.)

Cinnamon Chip Scones

Ingredients

3 1/4 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp + 1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 cups (12 oz) cinnamon chips
2 cups heavy whipping cream
3 tbsp cold butter
raw sugar

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375°. Lightly grease two baking sheets, if not using stone or parchment paper. I use a baking stone and think the result is the best.


Stir together flour, sugars, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Cut butter into small cubes and cut into the flour mixture using a pastry cutter or fork.


Stir in cinnamon chips. Add whipping cream to flour mixture, stirring just until ingredients are moistened. Turn the mixture out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead gently until a soft dough forms. It is important not to overmix.


Divide dough into 3 equal balls. One ball at a time, slightly flatten into a 7-inch circle; cut into 8 triangles. Transfer triangles to prepared baking sheets, spacing 2 inches apart. Sprinkle with raw sugar.


Bake 25 minutes.

4 Responses

  1. OMG, I looooooooove Starbuck’s cinn chip scones… thank you SO MUCH for posting this – can’t wait to try them!!

  2. What a great idea. They look fantastic!

  3. looks perfect for a weekend brunch!

  4. 10-9-10
    I prefer cinnamon chip scones from Au Bon Pain, but could not find a recipe for those. This recipe was very easy to put together. The baking time is perfect, and the texture of the scones is excellent. For my taste though, the cinnamon taste is way too overpowering. The next time I make these, I will halve the ground cinnamon (or maybe leave it out altogether) and I would also halve the amount of cinnamon chips. I would like the scone to be more a marriage of the buttery dough with a nice accent of cinnamon flavor.

Leave a comment