• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Candy Corn Fudge

The first recipe I’ll post from our 4th Annual BYOP (Bring Your Own Pumpkin) party on Saturday.  I wasn’t sure of these when making them, soley because of the ingredients.  It just seemed it would be too sweet.  But, they were very good!  One of my friends (visiting from TN) who claims she “doesn’t read blogs” said that she is now going to start reading Pennies on a Platter because she loved these!  I guess it was a life changing experience for her! 🙂

This recipe is listed in the Pillsbury Halloween magazine that I bought in 2005.  This little book has come in very handy every year for our pumpkin bash.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have the food blog when I made the other items (didn’t make any from this book last year) so I’ll just have to make them again sometime!  You should see how sticky the pages are from spilling all over it the past three years!

Instead of using the traditional candy corn shape to top the squares, I used the pumpkin shaped candies to go along with our BYOP theme.  They turned out cute!  However, next time I will use my Wilton icing colors to make a more intense shade of orange.

Candy Corn Fudge (Pillsbury Halloween Magazine, October 2005)

Ingredients:
1 bag (12 oz) white vanilla baking chips (2 cups), melted
2 cans (16 oz each) vanilla ready-to-spread frosting
1 bag (10 oz) butterscotch chips (1 3/4 cups), melted
Yellow food color
Red food color
48 pieces candy corn (or pumpkin candy as shown here)

Directions:
Line 13×9-inch pan with foil; butter foil. In large bowl, mix melted vanilla baking chips and 1 can of the frosting until well blended. Spread 1/3 of mixture evenly in pan.

In another large bowl, mix melted butterscotch chips and second can of frosting until well blended. Stire in 1/2 teaspoon yellow and 1/2 teaspoon red food color until mixture is orange and well blended. Spread orange mixture over white layer in pan.

If remaining 2/3 of white mixture has set up, heat in microwavable bowl in microwave on medium-high for 1 minute until melted and smooth, stirring occasionally. Stir in 1/4 teaspoon yellow food color until mixture is bright yellow and well blended. Spread over orange layer in pan. Refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour.

Use foil to lift fudge from pan. Turn white side up; peel off foil. Cut into 8 rows by 6 rows. Press 1 piece of candy in center of each square. Store in refrigerator.

4 Responses

  1. Yum! How creative too:)

  2. Wow this looks good, I am looking for something for a halloween pot luck I might have to try this.

  3. Brilliant, just brilliant!

  4. I have made this every year since I first saw the recipe in 2005. It is always a big hit. I tried to substitute chocolate for the butterscotch, for a harvest corn effect, and it is GREAT as well. Happy Halloween everyone!!

Leave a comment