• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos

Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos

Maternity leave has been the best time of my life.  Spending 12 weeks, 24 hours a day, with my new son, Judah, has been such bliss that I can’t believe it is almost over.  It’s flown by, and now I return to my full-time job this Thursday. 😦

Not only does this mean less time with the love(s) of my life (my husband included), it also means less time to spend on cooking and baking!  So, I have been thinking of meals that can be prepped ahead and frozen, or just thrown together quickly from the fridge or pantry.  This is one of those meals, and I am thrilled I found it.  These taquitos are delicious and extremely easy to assemble, and now I am afraid I will make them too often and get sick of them!!  I’m even making them for our friends who just had their second baby last week (on Valentine’s Day!) so they can throw them in the oven whenever they choose.  These are also great served as appetizers.

You’ll find the instructions for freezing and baking at the end of the recipe.  My advice to you is to go ahead and make a TON of these one afternoon, so they’ll be ready for you in the freezer whenever you need that last minute meal.  The best part?  You do not even have to wait to thaw them before baking!  Brilliant!

Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos

Printable Recipe

Makes: 8 Taquitos

3 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup green salsa
1 Tbsp fresh lime juice (juice from half a lime)
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 Tbsp chopped cilantro
2 Tbsp sliced green onions
2 cups shredded cooked chicken
1 cup shredded Mexican flavored cheese
small flour or corn tortillas
kosher salt
cooking spray

Preheat your oven to 425˚F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix the cream cheese, salsa, lime juice, ground cumin, chili powder, onion powder and garlic. Once combined, stir in the cilantro and green onions. Add the chicken and cheese; mix thoroughly.

(If you decided to prep this in advance, refrigerate the mixture at this point until ready to continue.)

Working with a few tortillas at a time, heat them in the microwave between two paper towels until they are soft enough to roll (about 20 – 30 seconds).

Spoon 2-3 Tablespoons of the chicken mixture onto the lower third of a tortilla. Roll the tortilla as tightly as you can.

Place the rolled tortilla seam side down on the baking sheet. Repeat with remaining tortillas until the mixture is gone.  Make sure the taquitos are not touching each other. Spray the tops lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle with kosher salt.

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until crisp and golden.

Serve with salsa, sour cream or guacamole.

**To freeze:  Before baking, chill the taquitos on the baking sheet in the fridge.  Once completely cooled, wrap each taquito individually with plastic wrap.  Place in a labeled freezer bag and freeze.  To bake a frozen taquito (no need to thaw first): Preheat oven to 425˚F and bake for 20 minutes.

Source: Adapted from Our Best Bites

21 Responses

  1. I actually tried Taquitos for the first time in my life last year…crazy I’d been missng out on those for so long!! DELICOUS! Yours look amazing! My husband would love it if I made these for dinner!

  2. One of my favorite make-now-bake-later recipes is Martha Stewart’s recipe for spinach and proscuitto lasagna.

    It uses no-bake lasagna noodles. Serves 4. And tastes amazingly delicious. (And I hate spinach.)

  3. I have bookmarked this recipe! It is going to get made here at my house and I will be freezing some. Your picture appears to be of a flour tortilla – have you tried it with corn? What is your preference?

    Thanks for the recipe!

    • Hi RobbingPeter,

      Thanks for stopping by! I haven’t tried this recipe with corn torts, but only because I already know that flour tortillas are my preference. I’m not a big fan, in general, of corn tortillas. It’s totally up to you and your taste to which you use! 🙂

      -Nikki

  4. My husband loves taquitos, can’t wait to try this!

  5. MMM I LOVE TAQUITOS! (Yes it deserved all caps!)

  6. My leave also FLEW by! Good luck on your first day back. These look awesome!

  7. I made these taquitos last night, omitting the cilantro and reducing the lime juice to 1 tsp. They were wonderful! I made a single batch and the husband and I chowed down. I wanted leftovers, but they were so good that we couldn’t stop eating til every crumb was gone. Thank you for sharing your recipe! I have a cooking blog and did post my altered version of these taquitos along with a link to yours. Have a great day!

  8. I just found your website, and these look sooo yummy! And pretty easy to make!

    Hugs on going back to work tomorrow! Good luck tomorrow!

  9. I love how easy these are and definitely great for freezing!

  10. Yummy!! I’m going to try these tonight. Hope your first day back at work goes/ went well. I’m sure you were sad to leave your little man behind. Hope you can make this blog super profitable so that you can stay home with him all of the time!! I stay home with my 13 month old & I love, love, love it!!

  11. Wow, all the flavors in this dish sound delicious! And it sounds simply enough that I’m definitely going to give it a try for dinner one night next week!

  12. Im new to your site and I absolutely loved these taquitos! My husband and I were in heaven. These taste like restaurant quality taquitos but better! I am excited to try out all the fun recipes on here. Thank you so much! Keep up the great work!

  13. I followed your recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. My hubby, and kids thought they were delisious! My son asked if we could have them again tonight! This was super easy and quick to make and the fact that you can make ahead and just fill your tortilla’s later is perfect for a busy family. I will definately make this recipe again and again! Thanks so much!

  14. i made these tonight and man were they a big hit! YUM! thanks! this will definitely be a staple for us!

  15. […] Posted July 20, 2010 by cupcakesandkale in chicken, cilantro, cream cheese. Leave a Comment from Pennies on a Platter […]

  16. […] is actually the filling for creamy chicken taquitos, but we liked it so much on its own we began making it as a chicken […]

  17. These were fantastic. We subbed low fat cream cheese without incident. Thank you for the recipe. We paired them with some pinto beans and Mexican rice. Great meal!

  18. First off, these are DELICIOUS! I have a friend who is gluten intolerant, and this is a great recipe for her. Very few alterations and this is completely gluten free and relatively low-carb. Thank you so much!

  19. These were yummy and a hit at my superbowl party. I think my tortillas were too big though, I made a couple “tasters” before the party and they were way too tortilla-y. I cut them in half and they were great. thanks!

    • Hi Clayton Chick,

      Thanks for the feedback! Yes, as the recipe stands, they are really the size for a meal. You can either make them in smaller tortillas or cut them in half like you did when serving as an appetizer. Ben and I eat these all the time for a meal. 🙂

      -Nikki

Leave a Reply

