• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Shamrock Shake Cupcakes

Shamrock Shake Cupcakes

It’s only about a week until St. Patrick’s Day, so the buzz right now, as it is this time every year, are the Shamrock Shakes from McDonald’s.  I’ve heard my coworkers talking about this shake lately, so I decided to surprise them with a cupcake version today.

I’m not going to type out the recipe, since you can see how it should look from the photos and use your favorite cake mix and frosting.  (I used the Better Homes & Garden vanilla cake recipe and it turned out a little dry.)  Just substitute Shamrock Shake for the milk and add in peppermint extract to your tasting.  Add green food coloring to the frosting until you achieve the desired shade.

Shamrock Shake Cupcake Piping

In order to make the McD’s arches, I melted white almond bark in a ziplock bag in the microwave, then added yellow food coloring.  I printed out an image of the golden arches, placed it under wax paper and piped away.  After letting them cool, the candy arches popped right off the wax paper, ready to be used on the cupcakes.

Give these a try!  You have another week to fit it in to your schedule, or you’ll have to wait until next year.  These are guaranteed to stand out at a St. Patty’s party…

19 Responses

  1. Cute! I’ve never had one of those Shamrock Shakes before. I love the eggnog ones, yum!
    ~ingrid

  2. That is awesome!! You are so creative! I am sorry that I missed them!

  3. great idea!

  4. These look great! Nice job.

  5. I love shamerock shakes, I am going to have to try this!

  6. So much talent!

  7. WOW…..that is an amazing idea….I LOOOOOOVE Shamrock Shakes! YUM!

  8. Mickey D’s should hire you for ads…

  9. I love the golden M’s. Did they come out tasting minty enough?

  10. What a cute idea!

  11. Ha – I saw these beauties on Tastespotting and couldn’t help myself from investigating more. Absolutely gorgeous, you did a great job!!! If only the Shamrock Shake came out for just a bit longer each year….

  12. Haha! I saw these on tastespotting, nice surprise to see that they are from you!

    NAOmni

  13. CUTE idea!!! My husband loves those shakes!!!

  14. I love this! I’m a huge fan of Shamrock Shakes. These are just too adorable. I may have to go hunt down a shake of my own ASAP.

  15. […] Shamrock Shake McDonald’s-inspired cupcakes are from blogger Pennies on a Platter, who […]

  16. Yum! The only time I ever go to McDonalds is when they have Shamrock Shakes!

  17. Very cute! I’ve never had a Shamrock Shake!

  18. How adorable. What an innovative idea.

  19. hi

    l love your cupcakes and l wanted how to make the krem

    beste regard
    serina

Leave a comment