• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Giada’s Lasagna Rolls

Giada's Lasagna Rolls

If you do not like spinach, do not make these, or else use a different recipe for the filling.  Spinach was definitely the dominant flavor in these, which is not my favorite.  I’m posting the recipe anyway, since I know it’s a good one.  It’s just my particular taste buds…which can vary drastically from yours!

Giada's Lasagna Rolls 2

I had fun making these and was sincerely excited about eating them because they smelled and looked SO good!  They are so pretty!  But, right away on that first bite I thought “Uh oh. Strong spinach taste. Shoot!”

I’ve always known I don’t really love the taste of cooked spinach, but I’ve had other meals I’ve thoroughly enjoyed such as the Florentine Turkey Meatloaf.  Now I know that too much spinach is not my (nor Ben’s) cup of tea.

I found this recipe on Food alla Puttanesca.  She left out the prosciutto and didn’t miss it, so I decided to also leave it out. I think that was a mistake as it maybe could have balanced out that spinach flavor for me a little more.

Did I mention I don’t like strong spinach flavor?  🙂

Next time I plan to use a different filling.  Something with Italian sausage, onions, peppers and more sauce.

Giada’s Lasagna Rolls

Printable Recipe

Sauce:
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
4 teaspoons all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups whole milk
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
Pinch ground nutmeg

Lasagna:
1 (15-ounce) container whole milk ricotta cheese
1 (10-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed, squeezed dry
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan
3 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto, chopped
1 large egg, beaten to blend
3/4 teaspoon salt, plus more for salting water
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 to 2 tablespoons olive oil
12 uncooked lasagna noodles
2 cups marinara sauce
1 cup shredded mozzarella (about 4 ounces)

To make the sauce: Melt the butter in a heavy medium saucepan over medium-low heat. Add the flour and whisk for 3 minutes. Whisk in the milk. Increase the heat to medium-high. Whisk the sauce until it comes to a simmer and is thick and smooth, about 3 minutes. Whisk the salt, pepper, and nutmeg into the bechamel sauce. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Mix the ricotta, spinach, 1 cup Parmesan, prosciutto, egg, salt, and pepper in a medium bowl

Add a tablespoon or 2 of oil to a large pot of boiling salted water. Boil the noodles until just tender but still firm to bite. Drain. Arrange the noodles in a single layer on a baking sheet to prevent them from sticking.

Butter a 13-by-9-by-2-inch glass baking dish. Pour the bechamel sauce over the bottom of the prepared dish.

Lay out 4 lasagna noodles on a work surface, then spread about 3 tablespoons of ricotta mixture evenly over each noodle.

Starting at 1 end, roll each noodle like a jelly roll.

Lay the lasagna rolls seam side down, without touching, atop the bechamelsauce in the dish. Repeat with the remaining noodles and ricotta mixture.

Spoon 1 cup marinara over rolls and sprinkle with remaining cheese.

Cover tightly with foil. Bake until heated through and the sauce bubbles, about 20 minutes. Uncover and bake until the cheese on top becomes golden, about 15 minutes longer. Let stand for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, heat the remaining marinara sauce in a heavy small saucepan over medium heat until hot, and serve alongside.

Source: Food alla Puttanesca, originally from the Food Network

26 Responses

  1. I made a version of these (also a Giada recipe) that were filled with shrimp. They were really good! Just another option since you aren’t a spinach lover!

  2. These look absolutely gorgeous.

  3. These look great! I think I’d cut down on the spinach, as well. Not a big fan.

  4. It’s to bad you didn’t like the flavor, but they LOOK delicious!

  5. Sorry you didn’t like the filling :-/ But it is good to learn the techniques for making the rolls and yours certainly look perfect.

  6. OHHHHH…. I think I would love these. I’m printing this one off for sure 🙂

  7. I watched Giada make these on her show once. They looked amazing. I really like your camera angles. They really capture the layers well.

  8. I havent made lasagna rolls in a long time! I think I may need too! Yummy!!!

  9. These look great and there is no need to change one thing!! Looks so yummy!!!

  10. This is one of our favorites! You definitely should try it again with the prosciutto – it made the dish extra special in my opinion! Looks great!

  11. I’ve seen similar recipes. It looks fun to make. The spinach won’t be an issue for me or the kiddos. I do know that I’ll need to cut back on the ricotta as they don’t care for it as much as other cheeses.

    Thanks for sharing the recipe and your experience!
    ~ingrid

  12. Mmmmmmm… I’m so hungry now!

  13. Awww, sorry you didn’t like the spinach. I LOVE spinach, so obviously I like these a lot. I agree that the prosciutto would probably counteract that a bit.

  14. Hmmmm…. I left a comment here, but don’t see it….

  15. Frozen spinach tastes a lot different from fresh spinach. I personally do not care for the taste or texture of frozen spinach in dishes and replace with fresh chopped spinach.

  16. Those look killer!

    NAOmni

  17. They are quite photogenic.

  18. […] Giada’s Lasagna Rolls If you do not like spinach, do not make these, or else use a different recipe for the filling.  Spinach was […] […]

  19. Ooh..I’ve made those! I liked them (I’m okay with spinach). I found them more labor intensive than regular lasagna though. But very nice for a change of pace 🙂

  20. Photoshopped. Look delicious though. I guess that makes them deliciousshopped.

  21. I’d like to give Giada MY lasagna roll….

  22. MMMMMMMMMMMMM they were so delicious! I was compliment thousands after making them… Props to you thank you!!! thank you !!! thank you!!!

  23. sorry that should read complimented… oops! finger licking good!

  24. looks good. would the prosciutto have to browned before adding it to the rolls? thanks!

  25. Very nice
    thanks!!!

Leave a comment