• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Candy Cane Biscotti

I’m in love with these biscotti.  If I make them for myself, I probably won’t take the time to dip them in the white chocolate and crushed candy canes, because I’ll want to eat them right away instead!  They’re great dipped in coffee or hot cocoa…or even on their own.

Candy Cane Biscotti

Printable Recipe

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs
2/3 cup finely crushed peppermint candy canes
14 ounces fine quality white chocolate, melted
extra crushed candy canes to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 350˚.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each. Add dry ingredients and mix until combined – stir in crushed candy.

Evenly divide dough into 4 pieces on a lightly floured surface. Shape each piece into 9″ x 1 1/2″ round log. Place logs 3 inches apart onto parchment-lined baking sheet.

Bake until tops are cracked and ends just start to turn light brown, about 18 to 20 minutes. Remove from oven and reduce temperature to 325. Cool logs 10 minutes on cookie sheet.

Cut each log diagonally into 1/2″ slices with sharp serrated knife. (Discard ends, if you want.) Arrange pieces standing up back onto the baking sheet.

Bake until cookies are light golden brown and crisp on both sides, about 12 to 15 minutes. The centers may still be a little soft, but will firm up as they cool. Place onto cool rack and cool completely.

Dip half of each biscotti into melted chocolate – shake off excess. Immediately sprinkle with additional crushed candy canes and set on a parchment or wax paper lined baking sheet until the chocolate has set.

Make about 4 dozen.  (Mine made slightly less)

Source: Culinary in the Desert

14 Responses

  1. YUM!! Those look fabulous!

  2. Those are adorable. What a great festive treat!

  3. Soo festive, I want to try biscotti. This would be a fun one to try.

  4. I just found you and these wonderful biscotti today. I will definately be making these and adding you to my blogroll. Just lovely! Smitten Kitchen inspired me to start my blog. That peanut butter cake did me in!

  5. I love how festive these look!

  6. Hi there-
    The creators of the Candy Cane Biscotti Land-o-Lakes butter people.

    http://www.landolakes.com/mealideas/ViewRecipe.cfm?RecipeID=13826

    I can see that Culinary in the Desert adapted the recipe but I just like to give credit where credit is due. [No affiliation to LoL folks and don’t use their butter either!]

  7. Hi Miki. Yes, I saw that Culinary in the Desert used the LoL recipe, but I usually point my credit towards where I found the recipe…then my readers can click there to see the original source. Credit is given to LoL.

  8. Yum, another biscotti to add to my list of must makes.

  9. These look wonderful! And unlike any other biscotti I have ever seen, this really stands out! Totally bookmarking this one. These would be great holiday gifts too!

  10. […] – Candy Cane Biscotti […]

  11. […] Cane Biscotti Holiday baking goes on. I found this great recipe on Pennies on a platter and thought it was perfect for the girl’s night out I was going to. I loved this recipe […]

  12. […] to whip up, makes a great dessert or breakfast and is always well received. I found this recipe on Pennies on a Platter and made the candy cane version as well, but this time I swapped out the candy cane pieces for red […]

  13. […] festive, and perfect for Christmas. Recipe taken from this blog Peppermint is automatically […]

  14. […] little while away until Christmas, I couldn’t help but bring out another holiday recipe. I found this recipe back in August and have been ever so anxious to make it. Candy canes came into the grocery stores a […]

Leave a comment