• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Buttermilk Cornbread Mini Muffins

Photo from my iPhone

Photo from my iPhone

The other night we were invited to have a chili dinner at some friends’.  I told them I would bring cornbread.  Instead of making the Jalapeno Cheese Cornbread that I love, I decided to surf Allrecipes and look for something different.  I came across a recipe called Grandmother’s Buttermilk Cornbread and decided to use this recipe to make mini muffins.

I just brought the ingredients and muffin pans with me to their house and made them there since I ran out of time, plus then we could eat them warm!  They were delicious!

Unfortunately, I’m not sure how many it will make.  I know for sure that this recipe will make 24 mini muffins, but I had batter leftover that I threw out because there were only four of us and I didn’t have time to bake up another batch! *UPDATE* I made these again, and I got 42 mini muffins!

Buttermilk Cornbread Mini Muffins

Printable Recipe

Yield: 42 mini muffins

1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup cornmeal
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 375˚F. Grease mini muffin pans.

Melt butter in microwave. Stir together butter and sugar in mixing bowl.  Add eggs and beat until well blended. Combine buttermilk with baking soda and stir into egg mixture. Stir in cornmeal, flour and salt until well blended and few lumps remain. Using small cookie scoop, spoon batter into muffin pans.

Bake for about 15 minutes or until passes toothpick test.

Source: Adapted from AllRecipes

Leave a comment