• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Chocolate Peanut Butter Surprise Cookies

Chocolate Peanut Butter Surprise CookiesTempt me with any chocolate and peanut butter dessert and I’ll most likely give in.  Who can resist such a winning combination?  If you are also on the chocolate peanut butter bandwagon, try biting into a soft chocolate cookie and being surprised with a peanut butter filling!  Ooh-la-la!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Surprise CookiesI made these for our friends’ son who just turned seven and then again this weekend for a Christmas cookie exchange party.  They are now being added to my Christmas baskets this year.  Although, once I make them, I’m not sure they will last long enough in my kitchen to make their way into the baskets!  😉

Chocolate Peanut Butter Surprise Cookies

Printable Recipe

Yield: 2-3 dozen cookies

1½ cups all-purpose flour
½ cup unsweetened cocoa
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
½ cup granulated sugar (plus more for dipping)
½ cup packed brown sugar
½ cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup creamy peanut butter, divided
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
¾ cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375˚F.

Stir together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the sugar, butter and 1/4 cup of the peanut butter until light and smooth.  Add in the vanilla and egg, beating one at a time to combine.  Gradually stir in the flour mixture.  Set dough aside.

To make the filling, cream together the powdered sugar and remaining 3/4 cup of peanut butter until smooth.

To assemble the cookies, spoon a generous tablespoon of chocolate cookie dough and flatten into a circle with your hands.  Scoop a small amount of peanut butter filling mixture and place in the center of the chocolate dough.  Wrap the chocolate dough around the peanut butter filling, pinching ends together to seal.  Roll the cookie in between hands to smooth into a ball.  Roll into a bowl of sugar and place on the cookie sheet.

Use the bottom of a glass to slightly flatten the cookies.  Bake for 7 to 9 minutes.  Do not over bake.  Let cool on wire rack.

Source:  Liv Life

17 Responses

  1. These have been on my list to try for years! Now I want them even more. Yum!

  2. These cookies look amazing and I can’t wait to try them!!!!! Thanks for posting. I love your blog! 🙂

  3. These look delicious! I can’t wait to make them!

  4. These look delish~I love all your Christmas basket ideas! :o)

  5. One of my favorite cookies! I made these last year 🙂

  6. I made these for the fam last night…they are DELICIOUS and so easy!!! Thanks Nikki, for another great recipe!!!

  7. These cookies… looks a lot like what my auntie made

  8. Oh boy-another chocolate PB dessert to add to Hubby’s “to make” list! Looks good! Can’t wait to try ’em!

  9. These cookies… looks a lot like what my auntie made. Brings me back to the past.

  10. There is no way I’d ever be able to stop eating these once I started. Delicious!

  11. How much is the yield? I need to make a large amount of cookies, so I want to know if I should double or triple this recipe. Thanks! They look great!

  12. them thangs look delicious, cant wait to bake up a batch!

  13. Oh my! These look divine! What an amazing combo of flavors!! Bookmarked!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  14. Made these tonight they are yummy!!!!

  15. […] Chocolate Peanut Butter Surprise Cookies from Pennies on a Platter […]

  16. […] peanut butter surprise cookies were to die for. Seriously. I am sooooo making some this […]

Leave a Reply

