• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Buffalo Chicken Bites

Buffalo Chicken Bites

It’s football season and I’m ready for some party food! Let’s take a quick time out from baby food posts, shall we?  We had friends over this week for Monday Night Football and I immediately knew I had to try these Buffalo Chicken Bites that I had bookmarked.  I also knew that if they turned out as good as I thought after reading about them on Stephanie and Melissa’s blogs, then these were going to instantly become a favorite – or should I say a staple – for our football parties.  And wouldn’t you know, I was definitely right on this intuition.

One of the best things about this appetizer, is you can prepare these in the morning and keep them in the fridge until ready to bake. Or, make them days ahead and freeze them!  If you freeze them, just bake them for about 5 minutes longer.  (Yes, I even tested it!)

Buffalo Chicken Bites

Stephanie, from Macaroni and Cheesecake, was brilliant for baking them instead of frying, which is the method I went with since they still end up crispy.  Additionally, I decided to dip them in crushed Corn Flakes cereal rather than bread crumbs, since it works so well for my favorite Chicken Strips.  I’m glad I made this change because the Corn Flakes add a crunchy texture and a sweet flavor.

If you love the taste of buffalo sauce, I recommend adding more of the hot sauce to the recipe.  The original calls for only 1/4 cup, but I found myself adding at least 1/2 cup and could still possibly use a little more.  My changes are reflected in my adaptation of the recipe below.

Dip these puppies in ranch or blue cheese dressing for a finishing touch.  If you make these, I’ll guarantee the football game will be much more enjoyable and you’ll have everyone inviting themselves over for the next game!

Buffalo Chicken Bites

Printable Recipe

Yield: 48 small bites, or 30 medium bites

3 cups shredded cooked chicken (About 1 store-bought rotisserie chicken, skin discarded)
1/4 to 1/2 cup hot sauce (or more to your taste)
3 1/2 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 3/4 cups sharp or medium shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup sliced green onions
1 cup all-purpose flour
4 eggs, lightly beaten
3 – 4 cups Corn Flakes cereal, crushed

Preheat oven to 350˚F.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, mix the chicken, cream cheese and hot sauce until combined.  Stir in the cheddar cheese and green onions.

Using a small cookie or ice cream scoop, spoon out the chicken mixture and roll into about 1 1/2 inch balls.  Place on a plate or separate baking sheet (not lined) until ready to dip.

In three separate bowls, set out the flour, eggs and Corn Flakes.  Dip each chicken ball first into the flour, then the egg and ending with the Corn Flakes.  Place on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 20 to 25 minutes.  Serve warm with ranch or blue cheese dressing.

**If freezing for later, place the dipped and uncooked chicken balls onto the parchment lined baking sheet and flash freeze for 15 to 20 minutes.  Transfer to a freezer bag and store in the freezer until ready.  To bake, place the frozen chicken balls back on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake at 350˚F for 25 to 30 minutes, until crispy and golden brown.

Source: Adapted from The Food Network via Macaroni and Cheesecake and Made by Melissa

28 Responses

  1. Wow, these would taste amazing with the ingredients you listed, a must try!

  2. Can we come over for Monday night football???

  3. I am so happy to see this baked version. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Buffalo chicken anything is my husbands favorite food. I have to make these for him and I am glad I don’t have to break out the deep fryer and oil!

  5. These are perfect game day snacks! I’m gonna make them with Frank’s Buffalo Sauce for sure!

  6. OMG, I love anything with Frank’s hot sauce – that looks delicious!!!

  7. I love buffalo chicken, these look super.

  8. Buffalo chicken is one of my favorite things to eat. These sound awesome and they look great too. 🙂

  9. Ohhh yummy! I love the crispy cornflake coating!

  10. These look delicious! I will definitely be making these this football season!

  11. […] Buffalo Chicken Bites lightened up from Pennies on a Platter […]

  12. I tried these over the weekend and they were fantastic!!! Thanks for sharing!

  13. These bites sound really tasty!

  14. These sound great! I will be making them for a football tailgate soon.

  15. how many does this make??

    • Hi Cindy,

      Gosh, I made sure to count them when I made them the first time, and totally forgot the number! 😦 But, as I think about it and rack my brain, I’m pretty sure it was around 48. I’m making them again soon, so I’ll definitely count them again!

      -Nikki

  16. Such a great idea to use the cornflakes! I bet that’s delicious! So glad they turned out great.

  17. This looks amazing! I also love the idea about the cornflakes!

  18. Just made these tonight, awesome! I made the balls a little bigger and the recipe yielded 30 balls so if you made them smaller I could definitely see 48 being possible 🙂 I also used crushed fiber one cereal instead of cornflakes and egg beaters instead of eggs to make them a little healthier.

  19. I know I would love these, because I love anything that is Buffalo Chicken related. This is going to taste amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  20. My fiance said he could “eat these by the tubfull.” Big success!

  21. These were maaarvelous. Easy to make, easy to bake, looved eating them and watching others become addicted to them. Thanks so much!
    Genius!

  22. […] I’m not going to waste your time Auld Lang Syne and all that jazz. If you’re going to a New Year’s party tonight, and need a little snack for the guests, you’ve come to the right place: buffalo chicken bites. […]

  23. […] I’m-Only-in-It-for-the-Commercials Buffalo Chicken Balls (from Pennies on a Platter) […]

  24. Holy cow. It’s 8:00 in the morning and I want to make these right this second! Yum!

  25. Can I make these the day ahead and cook them the next day?

Leave a Reply

