• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Apricot and French Dressing Crock Pot Chicken

I don’t know the official name for this.  My friend gave me the recipe after she served it to us in her home, but it came with no name.  So, I took the liberty to name it Apricot and French Dressing Crock Pot Chicken.  After reviewing the recipe, let me know what you think of the name.  Do you have a better idea?  Is this one just too long and makes you tongue tied?  I’m open for suggestions. 🙂

You will love this chicken.  It’s always nice to find a good slow cooker recipe where you can dump and forget!  And, it’s only FOUR ingredients! It’s pretty versatile, too, so you can adjust the temperature and time to fit your needs.  I live so close to work, that I was able to come home on my lunch break and throw this in the crockpot and cooked on high for 3 hours.  My friend used six frozen chicken breasts and cooked it on high for 4 hours then low for 2 hours.  The recipe below reflects my version with fresh chicken.

Either way, the chicken turns out very tender and flavorful.  As you hopefully can tell from the photo, it falls right apart.  Serve it over rice and maybe a side of broccoli.  The sauce is delicious, so don’t skimp out on the ingredients!   You’ll want to drink it right up!

 

Apricot and French Dressing Crock Pot Chicken

Printable Recipe

4 fresh boneless chicken breasts
1 cup french dressing
1 cup apricot jelly/jam/preserves
1 package onion soup mix
salt and pepper to taste

Dump all in the crock pot and cook on high for 3 hours.  Serve over rice.

Source: Adapted from Friend of Pennies on a Platter

Penny Says:  Use a generic brand of the Onion Soup mix.  I found no difference in taste, and paid almost half the price.

11 Responses

  1. oh yummy, this looks really good. I will have to give it a try. I like the four ingredient recipes 🙂

  2. Oh, this looks great! And so easy! I’ll be giving this a try for sure. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. […] This post was Twitted by CollegeCooker […]

  4. Easy and delish? Gotta love it!

    Btw, the chicken does look tender.
    ~ingrid

  5. Oh yum yum yum! Thanks for sharing this recipe! It looks delicious, and the name is perfect 🙂

  6. My Grandmother used to make something like this, except she would brown the chicken, then simmer it in the sauce. Such an odd combination of ingredients, but so good!!

  7. I make something very similar to this only bake it in the oven at 350 for an hour – you take chicken breast and cut it into bite size pieces and then you use 1 can whole cranberries and 1 jar of ranch dressing (but it has to be the kind from the cold section – not something like the kraft kind) and 1 packet onion soup mix – serve on rice or pasta – SO GOOD!
    that said, i tried your recipe and made it in the oven based on the above recipe – it was delicious!!! then i made it again only using an apricot/pineapple preserve… SO GOOD!

  8. […] apricot/french chicken(crockpot), rice, green […]

  9. I have a recipe similar to this except cream of mushroom soup is used instead of the french dressing; your version sounds tastier; I’ll try it.

  10. hmmm….I thought I had apricots in the house, turned out to be Orange Marmalade, I’m trying that today.

Leave a Reply

