• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creamy Chicken Pockets

Yesterday, as I was planning dinners for the week, I saw this recipe on the front page of AllRecipes. It caught my eye, so I had to try it! However, I read some reviews of the original recipe and decided to change it up a bit myself. The recipe you see below includes my revisions. If you’d like the original, click here.

Ben and I loved this meal. The crust is delicious and it really isn’t a very heavy dish. Best part is, we have enough leftover for another meal! Next time I’ll invite friends over to indulge with us.

Creamy Chicken Pockets
(Make 4 pockets – 4 servings)

Printable Recipe

2 tbsp olive oil
4 small chicken breasts, diced
1/2 cup minced onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon butter, softened
3 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 teaspoon seasoned salt
2 tablespoons milk
2 (8 ounce) packages refrigerated crescent rolls
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/4 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Heat olive oil in large skillet. Brown chicken with onions and garlic.
2. In a medium bowl, beat cream cheese and 1 tablespoon melted butter or margarine until smooth. Add the chicken, kosher salt, seasoned salt, pepper, and milk. Mix well.
3. Separate crescent dough into eight rectangles, firmly pressing perforations of two triangles to seal into rectangle. Spoon 1/2 cup of the chicken mixture onto the center of four rectangles. Top with remaining rectangles and seal edges.
4. Place pockets on an ungreased cookie sheet or baking stone. Brush tops of pockets with melted butter; sprinkle with bread crumbs. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown.

**UPDATE (9/24): We just ate the leftovers tonight for dinner and they were even better!! I just placed them back in the oven on 350 for 10-15 minutes.

2 Responses

  1. I absolutely love these – now I want to go make them!

  2. I made this last night. They were delicious! My son ate two! It’s definitely something I will make again.

Leave a Reply

