• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Hot Fudge and Peanut Butter Ice Cream Bar Dessert (HFPBICBD)

“Oh my soul!” were the first three words that came out of my mouth after taking a bite of this insanely delicious dessert. If you want to make a dessert that will deceivingly impress, then this is your recipe. It’s super simple and delicious.When our friends ate this dessert, they were delighted with the unexpected texture and flavors. One friend said “The peanut butter is a lovely surprise!” Another said “The crunchy toffee taste was wonderful!”

I found the original recipe on http://www.allrecipes.com and altered it just a little. You can find the original here and my version below. The beauty of the recipe is that you can pretty much add whatever ingredients you think will be tasty. If you make variations, please make sure to share with me! I’d love your ideas!After reading others reviews of this recipe, I made sure I spread the chocolate mixture on the sandwiches first, then spooned the whipped cream over top. The original recipe has you do it the opposite way, but I’m not sure how that works. Additionally, a few of the ingredients in the original recipe are different than what I used…such as peanuts.

I also used 24 ice cream sandwiches instead of the 19 that the original recipe called for. I found I could tightly pack them in this way which kept the servings together beautifully.

Hot Fudge Peanut Butter Ice Cream Bar Dessert (HFPBICBD) – Adapted from AllRecipes


Ingredients

1 (16 ounce) jar chocolate fudge
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
24 regular sized ice cream sandwiches
1 (12 ounce) container frozen whipped topping, thawed
1 cup crushed Heath bars


Directions

1. Pour the chocolate fudge into a medium microwave safe bowl and microwave 2 minutes on high. Do not allow to boil. Stir peanut butter into hot chocolate until smooth. Allow to cool to room temperature.
2. Line the bottom of a 9×13 inch dish with a tight layer of ice cream sandwiches. Spread half the chocolate mixture over the sandwiches. Spoon half the whipped topping over the chocolate. Top with half the crushed Heath. Repeat layers. Freeze until firm, 1 hour. Cut into squares to serve.
5 Responses

  1. mmmm, this sounds amazing! i love ice cream cakes and this looks like a quick DIY ice cream cake 🙂

  2. Wow, this looks incredible! I think my friends would go nuts for this. What a great idea!

  3. oh my god!! this is sinfully tempting dessert!!lovely!!

  4. OHHH. You’re mean. That looks so good, and I’m hungry.
    I love ice cream desserts like this, in the summer.

    Hey- You’re on Foodbuzz! So am I! It’s getting really big, isn’t it?

  5. I love taking these types of dessert to family gatherings! Everyone loves them and they always want the recipe from me.
    My Father’s side is getting together in March, so I will be printing this one out to make then!

Leave a Reply

