• Categories (Under Construction)

  • Follow Penny on Twitter
  • Tweet!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


  • Top Posts

  • my foodgawker gallery
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Berry Cobbler

When we were in Seattle last summer visiting our friends, Dan and Erin Rood, I learned from Erin how to make the yummiest and easiest dessert ever!! It is probably one of Ben’s favorites. Unfortunately, I never got the chance to make it at home until last week!

Erin makes it with fresh blackberries she picks around the corner from her house. She’ll go on walks with their 1-year old, Ryan, and just picks them as she’s out. Pretty cool! Well, we do not have any blackberries growing around us to freely pick, so I have to buy them for a high penny at the grocery store. When Mom Gladd was in town the other week, she bought us some blackberries from Whole Foods so I finally had the chance to make the cobbler the way Ben loves it!

We had dinner with our landlord and family, the Venables, last week and I made the dessert again but this time with strawberries AND blackberries. It was really good! It’s served with vanilla ice cream and is the perfect summery dessert.

Here’s the recipe. All of the measurements are estimates and can easily be adjusted to how you want. I actually use different measurements each time. I tend to double the topping recipe because it’s so yummy on the top!

Berry Cobbler
2 cups berries
2 Tsp lemon juice 1/3 cup sugar

Stir together and pour in 9×9 pan. Or whatever size pan you plan on using according to your measurements.

Topping
6 Tsp butter, melted or very softened will make it a little chunkier

2/3 cup sugar

2/3 cup flour

Crumble topping over berries and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Let set for a few minutes then scoop into dessert bowl and top with a few scoops of ice cream.

Let me know what you think!

4 Responses

  1. Looks yumcious to me. Strawberry season will soon be here. I will try this one for sure. Keep those recipes coming.
    Love you twos

  2. I guess I should have signed as “Michigan Mom”. Makes it a little difficult when both moms are “Sue’s”.:)

  3. That looks great! I’m going to make it for Kenny; he will love it! 😉

  4. That is a lot of berries in your bowl! I also just wanted to mention that you look sooooo pretty in that pic. I think that every time I see it so I just wanted to share.

Leave a Reply

